Emmy Awards 2015

Let’s start with the top 5 notable trends from the Emmy’s red carpet:

  • Loads and loads of black; pretty classy and very much a safe option (but there are a few who went wrong even there, I’ll get to that in a bit!)
  • Pale pink was a surprisingly popular choice amongst a lot of celebrities (not a very good choice although)
  • My favorite is definitely where, the older actors took considerable fashion risks (some very good ones and some not so much, but I love the ‘I wear what I want to wear’ attitude)
  • Pantsuits are here to stay, but it’s getting chic-er every season.
  • Rainbow gowns are making pretty huge waves, going by the looks of it.

But before we go any further, my favorite look of the night, Ellie Kemper, with the rainbow version from Naeem Khan, beautifully mitered in sequins. I’m definitely in love with this one!

rs_634x1024-150920163822-634-ellie-kemper-emmy-awards.ls.921015 naeem khan

The Classy Blacks

The Pale Pinks

Best Dressed

FotorCreated 1

Over dressed, yes but Kerry still managed to work that Marc Jacobs pretty damn well. And staying safe and winning again this year is Sofia Vergara (no surprises there!) this time in a St. John sequinned mermaid gown. Stand-out winner is definitely January Jones with her Ulyana Sergeenko pantsuit, super-chic and sexy! Second best Rainbow gown goes to Jaime Alexander for her beautiful Armani Prive. Lady Gaga stands out and surprises everyone by dressing super classy, this time around in an understated Brandon Maxwell.

Worst Dressed

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m just so done with the naked dresses; I wasn’t in favor when Gwyneth started it and nothing else so far has changed my mind either. Christine Marza, as pretty as she looks is still a much better bet that the horrific outfit Naomi Grossman showed up in. On the other hand, I’ve been nice to Heidi Klum for a while now, despite the outfit choices, but this Versace number is pushing it a little too much; absolute NO this one!

The problem with red carpet outfits – once you wear a statement, it remains in your head. All I could think about when I saw Elizabeth Moss (Oscar De La Renta) was Taylor Swift, a couple of years back and she had a much better luck pulling that candy color off than Moss did.

We have 2 new additions to the Addams Family this year; Julianne Hough (Marchesa) and Taryn Manning (Rubin Singer).

The horror of the pale pink parade has left a permanent scar this year, starting with Tracee Ellis (Zac Posen), Sandra Lee (Thierry Mugler) and Joanna Newsom (Delpozo), it was truly endless. Sandra Lee looked pretty healthy and good promoting breast cancer awareness, I just wish it was in a better outfit. I genuinely don’t see a good reason for the outfit that Joanna was wearing though; not unless you want to look like you have a framed mirror on your chest.

See the slideshow for the all of the arrivals from Emmy’s 2015 red-carpet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

And with that, we come to the end of the Emmy’s Showcase this year. Did I go too far or was there a scope for more? Let me know in the comments below!

Tell me what you think!!!

